top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDara

How to Find Time to Read More Books Right Now

Updated: May 6, 2020


A few years ago, I realized that I wasn’t reading all that much, even though I love it. I was struggling with finding the time. Or so I told myself. To be honest, I had the time, I just wasn’t planning or using my time very well. If you are looking to renew your love of reading, try these simple tips below to make it happen.


Bring a book with you everywhere you go. This can be either a physical hard copy book or an e-reader. If you always have a book with you, it’s easier to pull it out when you find yourself with a few extra moments during the day. Possible places to sneak it include on your lunch break at work, waiting in the lobby for an appointment, or at school pickup.

Create a daily reading habit. Maybe consider starting your day off with reading first thing in the morning or ending your day with reading at bedtime. Those are great places to start, but of course aren’t the only times. Do you have a chunk of time in the afternoon? That works too! The important thing to remember is to find a time of day that works for your life, not someone else’s.


  • Set yourself up for success by starting small.

  • Ten minutes is a good place to start.

  • Do that for a week or two and then increase if you want.

  • Creating habits takes practice. Be gentle with yourself. If you miss a day, just recommit and start again the next day.


Read what you love, not what you think you “should” be reading. I don’t care for classic novels. Think Jane Austen or Charles Dickens. That's okay. I’d much rather spend my time reading books I enjoy over books I think I should be reading. Don’t worry, no one else is keeping track.


Listen to audiobooks. These totally count! Listening in your car on your way to work is one easy way. We often listen to audiobooks on road trips. Those minutes really add up and are an easy and fun way to enjoy a story!


Join a book club in your neighborhood or at your local library! The South St. Paul Public Library has a monthly book club for adults. For more information, check it out here.




55 views0 comments
bottom of page